The Council

The National Band Council is made up of Councillors from each State and an elected Executive of President, Vice President and Executive Officer.

The Council meets on an annual basis at its conference. In between conferences, the Council makes major decisions via non-personal votes. The NBCA Executive is empowered to manage the operations of the Council between conferences.

The current members of the Council are:

The Executive:

  • President: Mr Brian Dodds (WA)
  • Vice President: Mr Adrian Loone (TAS)
  • Executive Officer: Ms Megan Stapleton (VIC)

The Councillors:

  • New South Wales: Ms Beverly Newitt
  • Queensland: Ms Annette Ries
  • South Australia: Mr Bruce Raymond OAM
  • Tasmania: Dr Courtney Brown
  • Victoria: Mr Daniel Van Bergen
  • Western Australia: Mr Rob McCormack

The National Music Consultative Committee (NMCC)

  • Mr Barrie Gott (QLD) (Chairperson)
  • Ms Maureen Cameron (QLD)
  • Mr Matt Klohs (WA)
  • Mr Peter Quigley OAM (TAS)
  • Mr Bruce Raymond OAM (SA)


  • Mr James Morrison AM (NSW)

Public Officer:

  • Mr Robert Bedwell OAM (NSW)

Website Design & Administration:

About Us

The National Band Council of Australia is a representative body formed by agreement of the Australian State Governing Bodies which represent the six Australian States. It is incorporated under the relevant New South Wales legislation.

The NBCA acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Megan Stapleton
NBCA Executive Officer

User Login