• Home
  • News
  • 2006 Annual General Meeting & Conference

2006 Annual General Meeting & Conference

Brief snippets courtesy of President, Robert Bedwell, from the 2006 NBCA AGM and Conference:

  • The newly appointed Executive Officer for the NBCA is Allen Woodham (from South Australia).
  • The QBA unlimited time limit for the Own Choice for all grades did not get up, nor the deletion of on stage march.
  • Dual registration – there is a change here that should satisfy the states in particular who asked.
  • Definition of conductor has been modified, however, not ‘open slather’ – it will be anyone who is acceptable within a state governing bodies own regulations/by-laws. For some degree of consistency in registration matters it was felt that all registration matters be the realm of the state governing bodies, until the States decide that a uniform set of National regulations is acceptable to all. This is a possible project for the future should the States be willing to accept it.
  • The poaching regulation has been deleted as it is unenforceable.
  • The venues for the 2007 National Championships in Ivanhoe were very good. We had to rely on the venue people advising that acoustics were acceptable. There are a number of issues that the VBL has to address with short term target dates that will be monitored stringently.
  • The State hosts for the 2008 Nationals will be announced Monday, 3rd July.

This brief release is pending a full report and minutes to be issued by the NBCA in due course.

Robert Bedwell
National Band Council of Australia

About Us

The National Band Council of Australia is a representative body formed by agreement of the Australian State Governing Bodies which represent the six Australian States. It is incorporated under the relevant New South Wales legislation.

The NBCA acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Megan Stapleton
NBCA Executive Officer

User Login