New Awards for Perth Contest

Two band stalwarts - Mike Butcher and Robert Bedwell - are to be honoured in Awards

The National Band Council of Australia has decided to inaugurate two new perpetual trophies for awarding initially at the Perth contest. The awards are for the Open Champion of Champion and Junior Champion of Champion in the Concert Band Solo’s section.

“The Council is pleased to name the Open Champion soloist trophy the Mike Butcher award and the Junior soloist trophy the Robert Bedwell award,” NBCA Executive Officer, Allen Woodham stated. “It is pleasing to have these trophies commissioned to recognise two incredible people within the band movement and also to give concert band soloists the same level of achievement as their brass colleagues.”

About Us

The National Band Council of Australia is a representative body formed by agreement of the Australian State Governing Bodies which represent the six Australian States. It is incorporated under the relevant New South Wales legislation.

The NBCA acknowledges the Traditional Owners of country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and to their Elders past, present and emerging.

Megan Stapleton
NBCA Executive Officer

User Login